The Nash family have been baking in Bicester since April 1929 when Will and Winnifred Nash opened their first bakery shop in the heart of the town.
Thanks to Will’s know-how and baking excellence, the third generation of the Nash family are still baking the freshest breads, confectionery and savouries available anywhere.
In 1923 he moved from Page’s Bakery to a variety of other bakeries around the country from which he gained valuable experience and different skills. It was at one of these bakeries in Newbury that his life-long love of horse racing begins. It was also in Newbury that Will met his future wife of 57 years, Winifred Billing.
In 1949 having outgrown their original bakery premises, Will bought out George Cannon’s bakery business in Bicester, renaming it W.G. Nash and Sons and moved the baking side of the business into Cannon’s much larger bakery building in Priory Road with elder sons Clifford and Lawrence.